Human Resources

Human Resources (HR) is dedicated to providing professional, confidential and cost-effective assistance to all employees and other customers in the areas of recruitment and retention of academic, classified and administrative employees. 

Our responsibilities include new hire orientation, employee benefits, employee/labor relations, collective bargaining, safety, salary administration, job classification, Board and HR policy, employee discipline and terminations, workers' compensation, training and equal employment opportunity.

Human Resources serves a dual role: as an internal consultant to management on HR-related matters and as an advocate for employees. Human Resources is wholly committed to the development and implementation of HR programs that will assist or enable employees to better serve the greater learning community of the Kern Community College District.

We welcome you to our website and encourage you to contact us as needed with your comments, concerns or questions

picture of abe ali

Abe Ali

Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Contact Information


Department Directory

District Office

Name Position Email Phone
Abe Ali Vice Chancellor, Human Resources abeali@kccd.edu (661) 336-5140
Mary Westberry Administrative Assistant, Human Resources mary.westberry@kccd.edu (661) 336-5141
Gina Duran Interim Director, Human Resources gina.duran@kccd.edu (661) 336-5107
Anna Gonzalez Human Resources Specialist - Faculty/Confidential/Management annagonz@kccd.edu (661) 336-5138
Kellie Tucker Acting Human Resources Specialist - Recruitment kellie.tucker@kccd.edu (661) 336-5133
Currently Vacant Human Resources Technician - Temporary N/A (661) 336-5179
Christian Hootman Director, Risk and Safety christian.hootman@kccd.edu (661) 336-5019
Tina Johnson Human Resources Technician, Risk Management and Safety tinjohns@kccd.edu (661) 336-5005

District Office - Payroll/Benefits

Name Position Email Phone
Kimberly McAbee Director, Payroll/Benefits kmcabee@kccd.edu (661) 336-5121
Beatriz Olmos Payroll Specialist beatriz.olmos@kccd.edu (661) 336-5114
Stephanie Goin Payroll Specialist sgoin@kccd.edu (661) 336-5113
Gina Banducci Benefits Specialist gina.banducci@kccd.edu (661) 336-5145
Employment Verification N/A employmentverifications@kccd.edu  

Bakersfield College

Name Position Email Phone
Currently Vacant Human Resources Manager    
Karla Quintero Human Resources Technician karla.quintero@kccd.edu (661) 395-4067
Lori Carlson Human Resources Technician lcarlson@kccd.edu (661) 395-4675
Leticia Dominguez Human Resources Technician leticia.dominguez@kccd.edu (661) 395-4066
Currently Vacant Human Resources Assistant    

Porterville College

Name Position Email Phone
Currently Vacant Director, Human Resources    
Robin Jones Human Resources Assistant robin.jones1@portervillecollege.edu (559) 791-2313
Lisa Escalante Human Resources Assistant lisa.escalante@portervillecollege.edu (559) 791-2225

Cerro Coso Community College

Name Position Email Phone
Laci Beyes Director, Human Resources laci.beyes@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6259
Nikita Lowe Human Resources Assistant nikita.lowe@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6243
Veranda Kuhar Human Resources Assistant veranda.kuhar@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6126